Thinking of buying a used Explorer. What to look for?? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Thinking of buying a used Explorer. What to look for??

Hawk312

Reaction score
City, State
York, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Explorer Limited
I am planning to take a look at a 2014 Explorer that I am really interested in. I know the more traditional things to look for to spot any issues. But I am wondering what in particular to look for for this year/model, as I am relatively new to the Explorers, besides what I have seen browsing and searching threads here. I have read about the exhaust smell in the cabin issues, but it seems that is mostly the 2011`s and 2012`s that are having that issue. I have also read about the paint bubbling issue, but I can easily spot and remedy that. I have read some complaints with the myford touch??

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!:exp::exp:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Check to see the fit between the dash and the door trim on the passenger side if misfit trim bothers you. Also, I would probably take the car over a few speed bumps and over some bumpy roads on a test drive to see if there are any weird suspension noises. Front end suspension noises seem to be pretty common. There's probably no way to look for this but my ex and a friends ex both had leaks that allowed water to drip into the third row. I would also make sure the clips on the headrests of the third row are secured since they are a pain to re-secure and I have seen them hanging off in a couple of rental cars.

As for MFT, after the updates, I honestly have not had a single problem with it. Maybe you could try and see if you have to most up to date firmware.

From being a part of this forum, I also learned (apart from what u mentioned)