New owner question about the tail gate | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New owner question about the tail gate

Ellocovg

Reaction score
City, State
NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 Danger Ranger XLT
First off let me introduce myself I'm a union electrician and I've always been a fan of Toyotas, I had an 08 highlander loved it traded it in for an 10 Acura TL sweet ride but I missed my truck. Was looking into a new Highlander but they do t budge on the price at all not yet anyway. Saw a ford family deal promotion and I've always liked the look of the explorer saw it on the web page figured out what configuration I'd like found it on a local lot took it for a test drive and ended up getting a good deal on a 3 yr lease. I honestly never thought I'd drive a ford but I'm pretty happy with my 2016 gunmetal XLT with navigation/my ford touch. Main issue I have is the tailgate I have to slam it to close it get in the car see it's still open get out slam it again and hope it locked that time. I actually unfortunately just noticed I dented it right above the tail gate door handle. Is this normal for the non powered tailgates to be such a pain in the ass? The truck is exactly a month old and I open and close it 2-3 times a day at least so it should be pretty broken in by now.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My guess is a bad latch or the tailgate is misaligned.