• Register Today It's free!

Bigger tire size.

CharlieH81

Reaction score
City, State
Denver, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Ford Explorer
I have an 06 XLT with auto 4wd. I live in CO and need more ground clearance for forest service roads and am looking to go with larger tires. The stock size is 245/65r17. When I talk to different techs in the area they all tell me that increasing the tire size can cause the auto 4wd to fail and possibly the anti lock brakes. I think they might be exaggerating and am wondering if any of you that have gone up in size noticed any of these issues.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I run 265/70-17 (non-stock wheels), and have no issue with the 4x4 system. I've been running that setup for over 4 years, probably 55,000 miles.

Tire question

Divemaster the truck looks great on the 265/70/17. Do you know if I use the stock XLT 17" rims if I will have an issue. Want to buy a set of Revo 2 A/Ts this weekend before the snow comes.

Thanks

The rims I use have a different offset than stock, making them stick out more. I can't be sure, but I think stock rims will probably rub at maximum turn.

No problems besides maybe speed but even doubt that as long as all 4 are same! You should be good to go just remember bigger tire means more stress on the transmission, axle, and t case so don't go crazy unless you gear accordingly!

Tom

so 08exploder the 265/70-17 will work with the stock rims? Thanks,

Check your clearances on your truck to confirm but I see nothing more than a 1 inch gain up and 1 inch gain down 2 inches total so I couldn't see a 1 inch difrence being an issue

Tom

tom I agree with you, now the width difference need to check also. Great calculator!