Poor credit leasing - buddy declined for ford but OK for jeep? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Poor credit leasing - buddy declined for ford but OK for jeep?

4FordFamily

Been there done that
Reaction score
City, State
Fishers, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'16 Sport, 08, other ford
Have a buddy with a 580 credit score, no bankruptcy, foreclosure, or judgements. He was accepted at jeep for a lease on Cherokee but declined by ford for a lease on an explorer.

Does he have any options? Better to try another dealer or same restrictions?

Why would Chrysler be ok and not ford?

I tried to convince him to come over to the blue oval "dark side". Anyone have experience with this? I work in the finance/lending industry so I am somewhat informed but also confused as to how this can be.

I am new to leasing I just leased my first vehicle (my '16 explorer) so I am less useful than I should be.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

It is actually pretty simple.. Ford doesn't have to sell your buddy a vehicle where FIAT has to. Ford has become very protective of their loans and making sure someone actually qualifies and can pay for the vehicle.

Perfect example of FIAT, they had 113 billion in revenue but only made 377 million in profit. FIAT is willing to gamble and offer low credit score customers a loan/lease because they need to sell a vehicle and make money.

Ford on the other hand made 7.4 Billion in profit (see the difference??). Ford credit made $232 million in profit..

Only .12% of their loans are 60 days past due and their average FICO credit score was 741 which is unheard of in the industry.