Diode dynamics or DDM ultra? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Diode dynamics or DDM ultra?

croll326

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer Sport
Thoughts on these? I'm not concerned with the price difference. I just want a solid kit. Do you have a wire harness?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I don't know what DDM Ultra is but I can confirm Diode Dynamic kits are solid, no issues, outstanding support.

I think people have either bought one or the other so nobody can do fair comparison based on having both.

I've been using DDM Kits for over 12 years with great success. I've only had 1 failure and they fully warrantied it.

I've used their normal $29.99 kits the most with no issues. Some vehicles i've put them in do require a relay harness. These kits are just a normal HID kit and do not have any power capacitors or power reserve for canbus equipped vehicles.

I've used their $119 ULTRA Canbus kits for the past 2 years with great success also. I haven't had the need to use a relay harness with these kits. They've worked great with no issues at all. Full plug-n-play. This kit has been in my explorer since last May.

They do offer other kits that are in-between those 2 I listed above. I have no experience with those kits. Judging by my experience with the kits I listed above, I wouldn't hesitate to try them out.

If you plan on using them on anything with an Auto Lights on feature, I would suggest getting a canbus kit in order to avoid any issues with a no light start-up.

Then there are TRS and morimoto kits....ugh

Thoughts on these? I'm not concerned with the price difference. I just want a solid kit. Do you have a wire harness?

I reversed my original stance on HID conversion kits for Halogen equipped vehicles.