• Register Today It's free!

SPL build in progress

Reaction score
City, State
North Carolina
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 ford explorer xlt
Finally decided to upgrade my sound system.. Again
I am by no means a professional but I've installed many system before, always learning more. Here's what I'm going with now
12" sundown NSV3, 2500 watt amp, 1000 watt amp, 4 pioneer 6x9s, 2 optima yellow tops, 250 amp alt. 1/0 Big 3 upgrade, 1/0 amp wire, 4 gauge amp wire, touchscreen Kenwood radio, 100sq ft sound deadening.
I will have pictures of everything as it goes in, and if someone more experienced than me knows much about building sub boxes please chime in I need help figuring out the port size.. Well pictures are worth 1000 words so here they are..

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You can google port area calculators, im currently in the process of building up my truck as well :)

i don't see any pictures??

also...regarding the dual battery setup. i have the same truck/options you have...have you looked in the engine bay on the passenger side new the firewall? I was thinking of putting a second battery there in a battery tray. it seems large enough.

You can go on youtube and look up caraudiofab he has a good video on calcutating ports and general box design. As for the firewall i havent looked for a gromet yet, but i was thinking about removing the 3rd row seats and making a false floor type of thing

Sorry everyone I will have pictures up soon. Need to upload to photo sharing site first. Been busy

Pictures

This is where I decided to put the 2nd battery. Had to relocate sonething . not sure what it was but its outta the way now
2afhqqc.jpg

4jupvr.jpg

Upgraded to a 250amp alt.
2iu4wwo.jpg

100sq ft of sound deadening
2nq8lev.jpg

sxi35f.jpg

1zguliq.jpg

4 channel amp under the floor
1238f38.jpg

1p9df9.jpg