2015 Explorer bump/harsh shift | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2015 Explorer bump/harsh shift

N

Nalegtx149

My wife has a 2015 EX and for about 10 months we have noticed a pronounced shift (bump/harsh shift) in the transmission. It seems to happen most between 30-40 mph on acceleration from a yield/stop sign or even red lights that turn green. A few times there has been a bump/harsh shift when braking from speeds above 40 mph. Seems to be around 3/4 gear i'm guessing. So after several road tests by a technician, service manager, shop foreman and even a overnight 2 day road test by a tech who drove it home, they have yet to duplicate anything. It can be finicky and i understand. Has anyone else here experienced this, the dealership says ford tech line had no other complaints of this type. I have felt it several times while i drive and my wife drives. I was a tech/service adviser for Mazda/Lexus and i understand "normal" and the repair process. Just reaching out for some extra advice/help since no one seems to be able to duplicate or even relate to this.

side note: two days ago there were harsh shifts at 15/25/35 mph consistently for about 3 hours of around town driving in and out of stores. hasn't happened since....just the very pronounced 30-40 mph bump/harsh shift.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

There is a TSB for the 40mph slam into gear when u are coasting and go to accelerate BUT this was for 2011-2013 models.

Post 7
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343204

Maybe they can reload the latest calibration and have it go through the relearn process.

It definitely isn't normal.