• Register Today It's free!

4WD conversion

larrymejohnston

Reaction score
City, State
ft worth texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 ford explorer xlt
Hello I'm new to this form and I was just wondering I have a 2000 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0l 2WD V8 with the 4r70w transmission and it has the ford 7.5" rear end with the 3.73 gear ratio limited slip I know that I need to get a transfer case adapter but I was wondering what is a good transfer case and front differential setup I don't want to change the rear differential but I also want low gearing when I'm off roading but still have Highway gears because this is my daily driver and I want the differential and transfer case to be able to bolt directly the Explorer has all the mounting points for the transfer case and differential if you have any answers to help me I would be really grateful thank you and God bless

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

you will need to find a 4r70w that came from a 4wd explorer, i dont think there is a adaptor for a 2wd trans unless you go divorced transfer case. unless you also want to go for a solid axle swap (sas), you will also need the front diff from a 4wd explorer (either from a v6 or v8 truck, they are the same as long as you get the same ratio axle) as well as spindles and hubs. as for transfer case, if you do a search for 4406 swap there are some threads that people have used (myself included) for a manual 4x4 case. btw, you should have a 8.8 31 spline axle in the rear, and not a 7.5. if you still have the tag on the diff and can read it, you should see the numbers 8.8 stamped on it, as well as 3.73 if you have 3.73 gears in it from factory