5.0 4R70W torque converter slamming | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5.0 4R70W torque converter slamming

Like CDW said if you have the 5.0 you should have the 3.73 LS rear end. They are not that hard to change the clutch packs on unless the PO (previous owner) really cheesed something up trying to fix it.

I got the Carbon fiber clutch pack set from Ford Motor Sports and used 1\2 the modifier called for. Took about an hour to change out the whole thing.

Used less modifier for a better bite.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The axle code is D4. it seems to have gotten worse the more i drove it so i parked it and as soon as i have a free day im gonna dig into it. hoping its a bad VC and not a f'd up rear end.

and Shucker1, I'm not a mechanic..... i can only do certain things.... i'm sure you are probably a mechanic and are experienced that's likely why it only took you an hour.

Sorry,

Didn't want you to take it that way.

Several write ups on this site about working on these cars. Search bar on the site is your friend.

The search features on this site sucks. the few threads i dug up on this topic are old and the pictures are gone so they aren't very helpful. I don't know if i'm just not searching for the correct thing or what, i'm not very good with computers or the internet.

UPDATE:

removed the driveshaft, the same noise persists from the rear end. so i assume its the clutch packs.

Don't assume, open up the rear cover and see how all of the parts look.

Don't assume, open up the rear cover and see how all of the parts look.