• Register Today It's free!

Stupid Brake Problem

Bratmanxj

Reaction score
City, State
Munster, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Mercury Mariner
I've owned my clean, low milage '06 Mountaineer since March and its been a great truck. The dealer put cheap pads on it and the brakes were squealing to a stop so I decided to do something about it...

Pull the pads, sand them down a little with some 80 grit on the work bench, compress the piston, and re-install. The squeal is gone but now the truck is pulling to the right and gas milage is way down (from 18 avg to 12 avg)?!?

Pull the wheels again, clean & grease the slide pins, make sure everything looks correct. The inside pads apeared to be dragging (extra dusty/caked in) on both sides. Put it all back together and still having the same problem.

Im a very capable mechanic and fabricator...but i think I'm probably overlooking something stupid on this truck...any help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Sounds like a sticking caliper. Is the rim getting hot?

http://www.aa1car.com/library/common_brake_problems_ucx.jpg

http://www.aa1car.com/library/bfixes.htm
BRAKES PULL TO ONE SIDE

If your vehicle suddenly swerved to one side when you apply the brakes, there is uneven braking side-to-side. This usually means one front brake is not working properly. The pull will be toward the side with the good brake (because it is doing all the work). Brake pull can be caused by brake fluid, oil or grease on the brake pads, a stuck caliper, a blockage in the brake line to one of the front calipers, or sometimes loose wheel bearings. A brake pull can also be caused by different types/brands of brake pads side-to-side on the front brakes. Different friction materials have different friction characteristics, so the brakes will pull toward the side that generates the most friction.