Rear brake job today

07EddyB

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Bowling Green, KY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Ford Explorer 4.6 V8
The Explorer was at 96K and the rear brakes had never been done. The pads were getting pretty thin so I ordered everything to take care of it. When I say everything - I mean everything. New pads and rotors - and, as I would regret later, new parking brake shoes and hardware.
Understand - I've never had the rear rotors off before - they still had the assembly clips on them. I had never actually seen the parking brake setup before.

That was uhhhhh - interesting. Not the correct word but I don't want to offend any delicate ears.

Wow. I'm not a mechanic but I've done a lot of brake jobs over the years - including drum brakes.
That was a whole other level. Like a drum brake job in complete darkness with one hand tied behind your back.

Then again - as much as I suffered through the first side I cut my time for the other side down to a third.
Still needs a little work - parking brake is a little weak right now. It will hold on a slight hill but put it in drive and it will roll.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm waiting for the snow to melt up before hitting this project on mine, Care to share any hints that will spare me aggravation?

I have had it apart number of times when doing the rear bearings. Yes, it's a PITA, but with proper tools it's not that bad. You need to crank it pretty high or you will not have the e brake. Once you put it together, you can't adjust it,
So, just get a good set of drum brake tools.

Yea, I just did the most ghetto brake job of my career, just to avoid taking off the rear rotors.

For my info I gather the e-brake has to come out and the springs are herculean grade springs?