16/17 poor choices of options/packages | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

16/17 poor choices of options/packages

luc

Reaction score
City, State
Salinas Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 XLT 4WD
2016 XLT 4WD
I was in the market for a 16 or 17 Gen5 and test drove quite a few. XLT, Limited, Sport,etc
My major issue with packages and options is that the only instrument cluster that i want and like is the traditional double gauges, ( tach and speedo) with the 4.2" screen in the middle. Can't stand the the single speedo gauge in the center.
I also wanted heated seats but NO leather
Long story short, the cluster that i want only come in the Base and XLT and to have the available option of heated cloth seat in the XLT, you need to first select another package that include the "upgraded" single gauge cluster!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I haven't really checked out the packages right now but I guess you seem to be out of luck. The Platinum has the dual clusters with a center screen but it isn't available with cloth seats. I see you ended up with an XLT. I'm guessing it has the heated cloth seats and the cluster you didn't want. Unfortunately there are only so many options that are offered. My guess is that it's to cut down costs. I don't recall any others complaining about it though.

Peter

I haven't really checked out the packages right now but I guess you seem to be out of luck. The Platinum has the dual clusters with a center screen but it isn't available with cloth seats. I see you ended up with an XLT. I'm guessing it has the heated cloth seats and the cluster you didn't want. Unfortunately there are only so many options that are offered. My guess is that it's to cut down costs. I don't recall any others complaining about it though.

Peter