What did you do to your 5th Gen? | Page 44 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What did you do to your 5th Gen?

@Livernois I'm about to order these. Can you hook me up with a better price ;)

IMG_6255.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

^^^^Gonna be a beast Noriega!!!

I carry a lot of stuff for the dogs, and they're with me part of every day. I got tired of having stuff floating around, or having an organizer tied to one of the tie downs at the back, so I built a cargo box. It's not the greatest craftsmanship, because I am not good at cutting long, straight lines. Sometimes short straight lines either. :(

I finished it yesterday. I built it out of 3/4" and 1/2" MDF, painted it black, and covered the top with black rubber runner from Lowe's. The same thing lines the drawers.

It's 44" x 40". I didn't want 44" long drawers, so I made them 24", and the 20" at the back has a hinged door, that will eventually have a lock. I fold the seat forward to access it. It's covered with my existing cargo/pet liner. View attachment 96676 View attachment 96677

The white stuff is some Gorilla glue that squeezed out from under the rubber runner.

It looks a little beat already. This is actually the second attempt. The first one was way too big. This one is 5 1/2" tall. I took the first one apart, cut everything down, and put it back together.

Nicely done, my friend. You should offer your services to other dog/pet lovers!

Nicely done, my friend. You should offer your services to other dog/pet lovers!