• Register Today It's free!

4.0L Advice/Opinions

charbaugh

Reaction score
City, State
Little Elm, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 F250 Lariat
I'm looking to get the wife an '07-'08ish Explorer, but the 6.4s are hard to find. I have no experience with the 4.0L and wanted to get opinions on reliability, known problems, things to look out for, etc. This will be a grocery-getter with no towing needs, so I'm not worried about power or the MPG side of the discussion. I searched old posts, and that seems to be what most focus on. I'm more concerned with if the engine and tranny are solid or not. Appreciate any feedback.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

don't know why the 4.0L gets a bad rap got a 2010 w/4.0L sohc and haven't one single issue with powertrain is solid average about 18-20mpg about 99% driving is hwy driving it's got about 109,000 mile oh her. It's maintained very will too. :)

I have 2 of them, get the v8, period.
I like the v6 and probably for majority of people it works, but I feel like that 4.0 engine will go south any moment, hope not... I do not hear any noises or weird sounds. But the tranny already went at 117 k miles on the v6, the one on v8 is still strong at 245k miles. The overall feeling and acceleration is much better on the v8, you get 80 more horsepower I believe, with a little or no mileage penalty.
I did the entire timing rebuilt on the v8 for $ 700 using Ford parts, with the engine in the car in half a day.
I do not want to think about timing on the v6, probably it will be a complete engine swap.

Bump V8 and the MPG is equal or better. Our new to us V8 is coming back with good number now that warmer temperatures have appeared. 2008-2009 are the best as there have been various fixes in later 2008 year as well.