Semi Metallic brake pads vs Ceramic | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Semi Metallic brake pads vs Ceramic

Just got the factory rotors turned for $50 for all four. That's cheaper than a new Motorcraft BRRF rotor FWIW.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My mechanic used to turn them, but says they're so thin nowadays he just buys new ones.

You start replacing with cheap rotors, hang on to your old ones for a bit. I have been through as many as four to get a good one. I was wishing I had my old ones back. YMMV

That's why I only buy Motorcraft. I have yet to encounter a defective part from them. I've been using them exclusively for several years now for everything from fluids to filters to parts. I've used other parts that either lead to a poor fit, e.g., air filters, or even poor performance, e.g., spark plugs.

To drewmcg's point about false economy with cheap parts, IMHO, you may end up paying more for more replacement parts or other problems down the road instead of paying a little more for quality parts the first time.