4th gen hatch on a 3rd gen? will it fit | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

4th gen hatch on a 3rd gen? will it fit

bump.

Xplorerguru, any progress on your conversion?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

saw one today!!! asked the guy if he had any problems. he said it bolted up fine but the interior was a lil different. Started talking about a heat gun and molding the inner panel. Also said the rear hatch button would not open the new hatch. then i smelled the beer on his breath and I got away from him. lol so It is possible

I know this thread is a few years old, but I just had the 2nd rear window explode out of my 2002 explorer. This is the 2nd one this year. I am a Firefighter and from what i understand about vehicle extrication and taking windows out, this is a failed design from the start. Putting a hole through the glass at critical fail points is just asking for this to happen. Anyway, I am very interested to know if the 4th gen lift gate will work with this model. I am leaning toward trading as I can't keep replacing these things ever six months. But since it's paid for, I would be very interested in just finding a 4th gen gate / window and painting to match. One more thing, can anyone tell me how this one mounts differently (glass wise)? I can see that it is shorter and looks different from the outside, but is there still a hole through the glass on each corner?

I think the 3rd gen looks better. 4th makes the truck look taller. I can't imagine it would be hard to take these broken ones and reinforce them for a permanent fix. Mine is still good, when do they generally break? Just random or when slammed or?

How often does the glass break?

I can't imagine even a used hatch being cheap.

I also can't believe nobody's done this here with all the talk.