New Explorer

Iowa_XLT

Reaction score
City, State
Des Moines, Ia
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer XLT
Hello everybody,
I am new to explorers, just bought a 1998 Explorer XLT with the SOHC V6 the other day. Only at 110,000 miles. In terms of maintenance or preventative maintenance, what are some of the first things I should do to keep it running great? Certain oils, filters, or parts that would help?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Just general stuff, standard 5W30 major brand oil or synthetic if your wallet will handle it, any of the filters liked on Bobistheoilguy.com, though the Motorcraft FL1A is good for the money, can be found various places for $3-4.

The rest, depends on whether it was taken care of or rode hard and put away wet. If it has original spark plugs and wires then it's due for that now, originals were spec'd 100K mi change interval. Use double platinum or iridium. Check the owner's manual for maintenance intervals, it's probably due for new transmission, differential, and transfer case fluids if they're the originals.

Being an SUV you might be due for some suspension parts. I'd lift it, take the wheels off and poke and pry on suspension parts, look at the CV joint, tie rods, and ball joints grease boots for tears. If your area salts the roads in winter then you might want to take a close look at the brake lines, especially the one on the rear axle going from the left to right side.

Listen for timing chain rattle. The SOHC engine will eventually grenade when the plastic timing guides fall apart, chain jumps, and the valves hit the pistons. Most of us would not buy the SOHC today due to this, though you might get lucky considering it only has 110K mi. I haven't taken a poll or anything but it usually happens closer to 200K mi. (YMMV).