2003 Sport Camping Build | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Lifted03Sport

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003, Explorer Sport XLT
Hey all!

I've been browsing this forum since 2010 and have gained a ton of information and new skills. There are so many useful resources here so I'm hoping to give back a little with this post. My current explorer is an 03 Sport that I picked up a couple years ago. In the time that I have had it, I have been doing small mods and fixes to any problems that have come up. Knock on wood the Ex has been extremely reliable in the last year or so which gave me the itch to tackle a new project.

So I decided to build a camping platform to fit in the cargo area. I would like to start camping in the explorer but since its a sport there isn't a ton of room to work with. I put together a little video showing the project and what I decided to do with it. There are still a few things that I would like improve on.

Let me know what you think so far and any suggestions are welcome!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Nice job. Always happy to see couples working together on projects. :dpchug:

Are you going to add any carpet to the top? Yards of the material is cheap, and really adds a custom look and function to it.

Please give an update picture, after you load up for an outing, and a review of how it worked out for you, after the outing.

Thanks for the reply. Adding carpet to the top is definitely going to be the next move. I will post more pictures/videos for whatever I decide to do next and then I'll document our load out for a trip.