• Register Today It's free!

New owner - Temp Gauge issue?

svo4turbo

Reaction score
City, State
Colton, SD
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Platinum
Hello all. Brand new 2004 Sport Trac owner. 119000 miles. Great shape overall. I just bought this truck over the weekend for my son and runs and drives great. Trailer the vehicle home from a good distance away and took it for a drive on Monday evening with no issues. Today he started the truck with his remote start about 10 minutes before he left, then on his way to school he called me when only about a mile down the road. He said the temp gauge showed it past hot. I had him come back home and look at the gauge myself. It was at least a half inch Beyond the hot side of the indicator. I open the hood and felt the radiator cap and the engine did not seem to be radiating excessive heat at all. I believe it's a gauge issue but would like to confirm this. Since I'm new to the 4 L I would appreciate any suggestions but it's my experience when a gauge seems Peg like that there's usually a sensor problem because I think it would take a lot for it to go completely off the scale hot like that. Especially after just 10 minutes of idling and 35 degree weather. Thoughts welcome. Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!