A4LD shenanigans

Mtn_Man

Reaction score
City, State
NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Limited 4WD
1994 Limited 4x4
So I noticed the revs were up on the way home yesterday. Sure enough, no OD. And for the past few weeks I have occasionally had a very lazy 1/2 shift on first take off on my street. Immediately clears when pulling out of the neighborhood. Have done nothing at this point, not even check the fluid level or quality. It was rebuilt at ~150k. Now has 233k on it. I know the 3/4 is electric. It's the lazy 1/2 that has me thinking I'm on the glide slope to failure. Thoughts?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

check & change the fluid is what I would do 1st, but I'm no expert.

The governor could be sticking. Does it stick only when it's cold then shift better after it warms up? Did you adjust the bands, and the kickdown cable? Is your modulator adjustable?

The lazy 1/2 was when cold. Yesterday though, I drove it 30+miles so it is probably not a temp problem with the OD. Going to check out RockAuto for what's available for the tranny.

Have done nothing at this point, not even check the fluid level or quality.
As ovrlndr said, check the fluid first. Not sure why you would check on parts availability or literally anything else before checking fluid. It’s easy, it’s free. You might just be low.
Granted it’s a high mileage a4ld, and they all die eventually, but start at the beginning

Just polling the collective wisdom. 80k on rebuild. And I can't check the fluid if I'm not at the truck. <conjures picture of Carnac the Magnificent>