cracked heads are off, can I save my bottom end? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

cracked heads are off, can I save my bottom end?

siggy-TX

Reaction score
City, State
Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Explorer Sport, 2WD
Hey y'all, newbie here who just got his first explorer, 98 explorer sport, 4.0L OHV, 2WD, 5MT, 105,000 original miles. Picked it up for scrap cost from a friend because it had overheated and would idle okay but was almost impossible to drive. I've been trolling the forums to learn about this engine cracked heads comes up a lot (foreshadowing). I've done a few tests, pulled the heads, and now I'm deciding what to do. As I'm a fastidious type of person (read: detail overload), I'll build up my case real detective-like and put forward a hypothesis, and I'm asking you for your interpretation and advice on the facts at hand. I'm new to engine work (only done suspension and maintenance work before) so I'm here to do some learnin!

THE FACTS:
Car ran and drove when I got it (idled okay, smelled rich), but was real low on power (improved a bit when I switched two of the ignition wires around that a mechanic goofed up, switched 5 and 6...you gotta be kidding me....). No coolant in oil, but the level was high and it smelled like gas.

Compression test results:
(1) 180 psi
(2) 180 psi
(3) 65 psi (unchanged when wet)
(4) 115 (120 wet)
(5) 155
(6) 135

Leakdown test results:
(1) 10% leakage, moderate air flow from oil breather tube and slight intake flow
(2) 10% leakage, moderate air flow from oil breather tube, when tube is covered the flow switches to intake
(3) holds almost no pressure, high air flow from oil breather tube, exhaust flow, slight burbling from intake
(4) holds almost no pressure, significant air flow from oil breather tube, exhaust flow, slight burbling from intake
(5) 10% leakage, my notes are illegible, but possibly similar to cylinder 1 or 2 (similar compression)