Would like feedback on the Explorer Sport model | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Would like feedback on the Explorer Sport model

94Eddie

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2010 Mountaineer Premier
I have been driving Explorers since the mid 1990s and I currently drive a 3rd generation model. I am looking to buy a 5th generation model and don't know much about the pitfalls to watch out for with them. I am particularly interested in the V-6 TT Sport model first and the Limited versions second. I am looking to buy one with 30k-60k miles.

What is the reliability of the drive train in the V-6 TT and N/A V-6 models? Is there chronic problems with them I should consider? I usually keep a vehicle for several years so I would want to get up to 150k miles from whatever I buy. I figure the N/A V-6 engines in the Limited models are more trouble free.

Also, are there any common problems with these models that are not related to the drive train?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

No disrespect but the first 4 or 5 pages will tell you pretty much everything to look out for. It would be a lot to type that has been said many times over with in depth details.

No disrespect but the first 4 or 5 pages will tell you pretty much everything to look out for. It would be a lot to type that has been said many times over with in depth details.
I scrolled through about ten pages of threads and found nothing that provided the general feedback I am looking to hear. There are lots of individual problems but trying to compile a running total of specific problems would take a very long time.