What is this thing on my roof?? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What is this thing on my roof??

Rich9191

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 explorer platinum
Hi I am new to the explorer community and just purchased a used 2017 explorer platinum today. For the life of me I can not figure out what this thing is on the roof. It is threaded so something should obviously be screwed on to it but I am not sure if this is something someone added aftermarket or if this is stock. It sits near the top of the roof rail above the driver door. I was thinking something to do with park assist as I do get a little error when I go in reverse with a picture of a car with a red exclamation in the middle of it. Any help would be much appreciated. My googling so far has not returned much results.
IMG_20190424_222352.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi I am new to the explorer community and just purchased a used 2017 explorer platinum today. For the life of me I can not figure out what this thing is on the roof. It is threaded so something should obviously be screwed on to it but I am not sure if this is something someone added aftermarket or if this is stock. It sits near the top of the roof rail above the driver door. I was thinking something to do with park assist as I do get a little error when I go in reverse with a picture of a car with a red exclamation in the middle of it. Any help would be much appreciated. My googling so far has not returned much results. View attachment 169784

Would you happen to have a photo of the surrounding area? I've never seen such a device. Where on the roof is it located?

Here is another picture. Sorry the lighting is not great. It sits between the sunroof and the roof rail.
IMG_20190424_231326.jpg