• Register Today It's free!

Plug Gap

Mekks082

Reaction score
City, State
Denver, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
2022 Explorer ST
I have a 2016 Explorer Limited with the 3.5 NA.

I installed some NGK Iridium LTR6IX-11 # 6509 plugs today thinking they where gaped correctly from the factory as they have always came pre gaped with other cars I have owned. After installing I decided to double check... The plugs from NGK are gaped @ .044 and the explorer calls for .052

Will this be an issue? would prefer not to pull her apart again if I can avoid it.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would adjust the gap to the Ford spec. I looked them up on the NGK site and there is a note that you must adjust the gap. I am no expert just like to follow directions!

Best to remove and gap them properly. Too narrow a gap could result in the air/fuel mixture to not burn cleanly. Also, a properly gapped plug helps to remove heat from the cylinder ignition chamber.

Peter

While it is a popular misconception that plugs are pre-gapped from the factory, the fact remains that the gap must be adjusted for the vehicle that the spark plug is intended for.
Gapping and Indexing | NGK Spark Plugs

While most NGK spark plugs are pre-gapped, there are instances where the gap requires modification. NGK recommends a wire-style or feeler gage gap tool, which can adjust the gap without prying against the center electrode. NGK also recommends adjusting the gap no more than +/- 0.008” from the preset gap.
5 Things You Should Know About Spark Plugs | NGK Spark Plugs

Gotcha, thanks everyone. Only have the disk style gapper so will pick up a wire one and gap them after work today, Cheers.

All spark plugs are pre gapped (or gaped, if that is preferred).