Newbie here needing help ** problem identified | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie here needing help ** problem identified

Tazoez

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
16 Explorer Base
Hello all... I recently bought a new to me 16 explorer base with a 2.3l ecoboost that had 39k for miles. I just started to have an issue with it that has stumped ford techs and I hope you all can help.
I have a "knocking" noise under acceleration starting between 2.5k and 3k rpm when drive. ( I will try and record and upload for everyone tomorrow)
If you are in park, no noise. The more throttle you give, the louder it gets. The techs hear it but have no clue. I've also had a puff of "brownish" color smoke that came from under the hood over the windshield when I was merging onto the highway. I didnt recognize the burn smell as something I have smelled before ** oil, coolant, etc.**. Finally, I had them do a fresh oil change at 1500ish miles on the oil because the oil was black. I noticed spitting from the dipstick and cap a couple days later. (I'm OCD, I check after every oil change to make sure the techs didnt spill and it was clean and cap/dipstick were tight)
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
I traded my perfectly good F150 for this due to 3rd child on the way and I need a reliable vehicle for my kids.
Thank you all.
Patrick .
P.S. other than that issue, I so far love my explorer and my wife who has the exact same, except xlt, ecoboost 2.3 has been great

View attachment 174646

View attachment 174647

20191004_074828.jpg

20191009_203148.jpg

20191003_130914.jpg

20191003_130910.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

For the knocking, try a tank of 93 Octane.