Contribute your experience: Ford Explorers 2016-2019 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Contribute your experience: Ford Explorers 2016-2019

unspecifieduser

Reaction score
City, State
Raleigh, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
Jeep Grand Cherokee
I'm in the market for a new vehicle and was considering 2016-2019 model Explorers. I'm just getting into looking into these models, but wanted to see if anybody had any thoughts about changes across those years and whether there were aspects worth considering or things to stay away from.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Buy a 17+ (sync 3) and make sure it is within the b2b warranty so you can buy a Ford ESP on it.

I agree with Smoke. The biggest regret I have my with 16X is not having Sync3. If I would have known I would have waited for a 17X.

Thanks for the suggestion. I just looked and it looked like a lot of grumbling about that issue and good to know to look for 2017+ models.

Are these years pretty much the same mechanically? Does anybody do much work on their Explorer and are there any design issues - good or bad - that you've encountered?

Any feedback on what you like about the trim levels? XLT, limited, etc?

To short circuit some of your questions as to what are major issues with this generation of Explorer, go to the top of forum introduction page and click "Replies". It will show you the threads that have received the most responses and more or less focuses on the major issues. In summary, it's not maintenance friendly engine, somewhat of an afterthought by the engineers who designed this generation.