• Register Today It's free!

front end knocks

gwt

Reaction score
City, State
cedar rapids iowa
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 xlt
I have a 96 XLT and the front end knocks, I can feel it in the steering wheel but I cannot locate it. It knocks really bad in the summer. I have had a lot of parts changed but it still knocks. The dealer ship says this is a big problem with them but they can not find the problem. I have been fighting this for over 3 years I know someone out there has had the same problem and fixed it.

G.T.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hello, welcome to the boards. I hope we can help you with your problem.

First off, when does it make the noise, when the wheel is turned like in a curve? When you are sitting at a light and idling? When you are off road or going over bumps? Things like that can help us help you a lot quicker.

Happy trails!!

My OLD 96 chassis used to do the same thing. I know exaclty what you're talkin about. It was the worst on really hot days. The whole front end would squeek when going over speedbumps and turning hard. I know a lot of people have had this problem. I suggest maybe checking your shocks, ball joints, and bushings. I lubed the crap out of every moving part up there but it still did it. So I got a new chassis. :D

Knocking