• Register Today It's free!

Noise from front end

DSB3272

Reaction score
City, State
Staten Island, New York
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer XLT 4x4
I have a 2002 Ford Explorer XLT. A cpuple of weeks ago it started making a weird noise, when I drove over a speed bump the front end makes like a rubbing or creaking sound. Now I know over time a car has things happen, but my car has only 11000 miles on it. Does anybody have any idea what it could be, and was this a recall or something. It sounds like the springs or bushings, but I am not a mechanic so I don't know. If anybody is familiar with this problem, please let me know. Thanks.

Dave

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Does it only do it when you hit a bump? If it sounds like rubbing, check around to see if anything is in fact rubbing.

Front end noise

Everything looks fine up there. But it is more of a squeaking noise, like the springs or something now. It happens when I go over a speed bump or something similar, or any kind of SMOOTH bump.When the wheels go up, the noise is there. I wanna take it to the ford dealer, but I want them to FIX IT, and I figured if somebody out there had this problem, they could tell me what it is, so the dealership don't give me the runaround.

Thanks,
Dave

I have a 93 EB and mine does the EXACT same noise when the truck bounces up and down. Mine definately comes from the passenger side front. I can even cause the noise by pushing down on the passenger side front corner. Maybe this thread can help both our problems