8.8 axle gear swap info needed.

Redrig

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Gettysburg,PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Mountaineer
im new to the 8.8 rear. i know with the 9inch once you remove the axles the whole carrier comes out. the 8.8 has a cover. so once the axles and covers removed what steps need to be taken to remove the center section to take it and have the ring and pinion gear set up on it. or isnt the 8.8 that easy? also i know that 4:10's arent quite low enough with 33's and 4:56's are a little low. so with no happy meduim i only do around town driving and little highway but im noticing on highway and upgrades my 3:73's kinda do suck so highway is where i want to gain. so which to use? gas mileage isnt a problem for me. thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

So want are you wanting to go lower between 4.10 and 4.56. I think they made 4.30's. How does it suck on the highway no power?

i dont think they make 4:30's for 4wd. yeah ive been doing more highway driving and driving up some lengthy hills and i need to use passing gear alot. its not terrible but i just need some more juice.

4.30s dont come for the front end...

got 4.56's i got 4.10s and don't notice a huge difference over the 3.73's and im rollin on 33's

so your 4:56's isnt a huge difference? do you think id be better off going with a few engine mods and a cat bat system?

few Q's