Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. K

How many miles on your 2ND GEN EX?

My 2001 had 185K in 2013 when it was rear-ended and totaled.. I had been driving it for about four years by then, I bought it at an auto auction. I just bought a 2000 yesterday with 164,000 on the clock. It is running beautifully. It has been well maintained by previous owner, came with all...
  2. K

Thermostat plastic housing...$490??!!

Thanks everyone! I called the mechanic (actually the shop owner) and without calling him a liar, told him I knew the part(s) could be found for less, and I could order them myself if he wanted... He quickly changed his tune and said he could get a "discount" which he would "pass along" to me...
  3. K

Thermostat plastic housing...$490??!!

2000 4.0 V6 Explorer. Had a serious coolant leak suddenly occur while driving on freeway, pulled off and when I looked under the hood I could see coolant/steam spraying back over the top of the block from the thermostat housing (which is plastic) I let things cool down and filled it up with...
  4. K

door lock...

Driver side door lock problems are common with these vehicles. Usually, it is a broken spring on the mechanical linkage. There are many threads in this forum dealing with this subject. Usually, the problem can be fixed fairly easily and cheaply yourself, sometimes new mechanisms are needed...
  5. K

Teens or Old people

I find therr to be annoying obnoxious and/or foolish dangerous drivers from all demographic groupings. However, Seniors and teenagers certainly represent significant numbers of problem drivers. Seniors though typically do things like drive to slow (in the fast lane) but they are generally...
  6. K

Turn signal mounting looking for plastic ferrules / clip info