Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. G

8K Hids are quaint

We'll just have to disagree, then. The HID's light up street/lane markings and signs better than the stock halogens could ever hope to.
  2. G

Duralast Brake Pads

I went w/ the Wagner thermo-quiets on my 03 Explorer. They work perfectly and weren't too expensive. They've been on it for over 30k so far.
  3. G

8K Hids are quaint

I'm no expert, but I disagree about going w/ 8k's. I have them in my SS and they are amazing compared to the stock halogens. That's not to say the 6k's aren't brighter, b/c they should be. I wouldn't ever go over an 8k bulb in a headlight or driving light due to the reasons stated (diminished...
  4. G

Explorer or Trailblazer?

Yes I know this is an older thread :D Let's not go over board w/ the trans comment...LOL. 4700 # curb weight + 400hp/tq = broke trans. Not all, but there are a LOT of failures due to the power/weight combo. That being said, I fricking love mine. There are still a few things I like about...
  5. G

question on all 3rd gens... are they all SOHC engines?

Sounds like it. Great post! I guess I should have looked it up myself...lol. It's my wife's vehicle and we've kept it stock, so I never really messed w/ it other than regular maintanence things.
  6. G

question on all 3rd gens... are they all SOHC engines?

Did I miss a big Ford engine change pre-2011? The 4.0 V6 is an OHV (Over Head Valve) motor, but not a SOHC motor....it's still a pushrod V6. The 4.6 V8 is Single Over Head Cam motor, meaning the cam is physically above the head and the cam is what opens and closes the valves.
  7. G

Climate control mode knob not working?

I'm having the same issue in my 03 XLT. Just noticed it this morning. Vents work fine, but nothing (or very little) from the floor.
  8. G

Explorer or Trailblazer?