2003 explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2003 explorer

1. F

Everyone please help me find my car i sold

In December of 2018, my family sold our 2003 Ford Explorer XLS 4.0 V6 SOHC 4X2. As a first time driver, I am desperately trying to find it again. The car was sold to CarMax in Miami . The VIN IS 1FMZU62K03UC53132 . PLEASE HELP AS I WOULD CONSIDER BUYING THIS CAR BACK AND I MISS IT DEARLY
  2. J

New tranny - Need Opinions Please

HEY GUYS - I NEED OPINIONS! 2003 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0L V6 FLEX 5 Speed Automatic So, my transmission finally gave out on my 03 Ford Explorer with 243k miles on it. I talked to my mechanic (totally honest guy that I trust). He ran the numbers and basically I'm looking at roughly between $1,500...
  3. B

2003 Explorer 5r55w transmission problems

So I bought this 2003 4.0 4x4 explorer 5r55w (180k) with all maintenance records for cheap. Dirt cheap. $1 cheap! Its in great condition inside and out. The engine is runs like new but the trans is not doing so good. Here's what I'm experiencing... Late engagement from Park to Drive/Reverse and...
  4. J

2003 Explorer Transmission Problem AFTER replacing solenoid

My vehicle is in the shop as I write this. The shop has been in business for decades, so I believe they know their craft. They replaced the solenoid pack and took my vehicle for a test drive, discovered a leak, but no other issues. After fixing the leak, they took another test drive, where the...
  5. C

Car Starts, runs for 5 Minutes Then .....

Hey Explorer Fam. Happy 2017!!!!!! I have a bit of a problem. I have a 2003 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 and when I start it it runs for a bout 5 minutes and the starts missing, and cuts off. If I try to restart it it turns but wont start, as if its out of gas. If I wait for about 30 minutes to an...
  6. F

Compatibility