06 Explorer No DTCs hard start, rough idle, stalling | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

06 Explorer No DTCs hard start, rough idle, stalling

marvelouzone

Reaction score
City, State
Baltimore, Maryland
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer
Let me start by saying, I'm a diesel mechanic and know my way around Powerstrokes, this 4.0 is not what I would usually work on, but I have a friend who has 2006 explorer 4.0L SOHC, someone told him he needed a motor with out explanation why, so I didnt want to see him get ripped off. The problem is it idles very rough, hard to start, and stalls. There's no DTCs , if you hold the accelerator slightly it will stay running, but once you let off it will either idle really bad and misfire or cut off, once pushing the accelerator the rpms raise very smoothly up til 3500 which is what I assume the rev limit is in nuetral. I've done checks with focom and forscan, I was thinking possibly a bad fuel pump, while monitoring fuel pressure I see a range of 289 - 326 kpa with 26% fuel pump I guess duty cycle would be the correct term(once again I'm a diesel guy, and use to dealing with IPRs and Hpops) not sure if the desired fuel pressure is relevant on these but it always stays at 269kpa. I believe that equals out to 40-48psi while I believe this system is supposed to have somewhere in the range of 60 - 70, but I wouldnt expect to get a rough idle with no load with almost 50 psi of fuel pressure.

so with no DTCs Im baffled, and dont want to start waisting money just throwing parts at it. I've thought everything from fuel pressure sensor, to coil pack(replaced 4 months ago) to crank and cam sensors

I need help, Ideas, guidance, something. lol