1993 E-4WD Aerostar with 4WD codes. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1993 E-4WD Aerostar with 4WD codes.

Icuff4cash

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Las vegas
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 aerostar awd
Hello as a Newbie I have a gazillions of questions.1 were do I get a service book chitons is rwd only Hayes does not list awd pep boys called there distribution center and awd is not in the computer system. Amazon was a bust. eBay had a listing for factory service books no awd and at $140. I was not going to chance it. I found a relay in a glove box the owner said it was to disconnect the awd. She's been driving like this for 2 years no problems she said I put 75 miles on it and no problem. I plugged it in the light flashes 9 times then 5 seconds later reflashes. I found a long article about testing wheel sencers and electronic clutches.2 I took it to get looked at and a trans shop did not want to hunt down and test each sencer because a lot of the time the wireing harness were ceroaded.they suggest pull the Dana and put a explorer 2 speed transfer case and floor shifter setup. But they had no idea about the electronics. Would it be simpler to put a 5 speed and transfer case. I love this van and really would like the awd to work. Can I damage the tranny ha sing the relay unplugged

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!