1996 explorer cam swap on stock ecu | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1996 explorer cam swap on stock ecu

Reaction score
City, State
Jacksonville FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Ford explorer 5.0
Ok I keep seeing guys who have swapped f cams and x cams in the explorer from 1996 to 2001 and I see it's on the stock setup meaning no distributor, so my question is and I am a mechanic can I swap an f303 cam into the 96 explorer and it will run and learn the cam till it's tuned or will it not run at all my buddy says it will run fine but I want real world experience in the question I'm asking not what you read off the side of a cereal box. Please only respond if you know first hand or second and seen it done thanks and this is my first post I just joined last night I'm swapping the 1996 explorer 5.0 into my 2007 single cab ranger that I already did a 4.0 swap into as the single cab never came with the 4.0 let me know, dee

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to the forum.

F cam may have piston clearance issues. B and E have been used by others with stock tune prior to final tuning. The F cam will get your RPM's beyond the reliable point of the pedestal rocker arms.

did you read the notes here?

SMALL BLOCK V-8 HYDRAULIC ROLLER TAPPET CAMSHAFTS

Choose a cam with 114 lobe separation and it will run on stock PCM.

Welcome to the forum.

F cam may have piston clearance issues. B and E have been used by others with stock tune prior to final tuning. The F cam will get your RPM's beyond the reliable point of the pedestal rocker arms.

did you read the notes here?

SMALL BLOCK V-8 HYDRAULIC ROLLER TAPPET CAMSHAFTS
It tells you that the other cams you quoted won't work either like I said real world answers thanks