Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

2000 trouble shifting between 2nd & 3rd. "Slipping"

Discussion in 'Transmissions & Transfer Cases' started by OregonHillbilly, September 17, 2019.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

1. OregonHillbilly

OregonHillbilly New Member

City, State:
    trailer park, oregon
    Year, Model & Trim Level:
    2000 Ford explorer
    My 2000 Eddie Bower v6 started doing thing thing where if I'm just driving in drive when it is time to go from 2 to 3 it kinda gos into free wheel then if I let off the throttle it'll catch 3rd, normally the od light will start blinking. I've been driving it for 6 months like this because I just manually shift it and I run it up to about 30mph then let off the throttle and shift the lever to 3 and it's fine.
    I've read about the valve body gasket, but somebody told me this sounded like maybe a servo. Can anybody give me any advice on what it sounds like and if it is a servo how do I fix it?
    Thanks in advance.

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. JK080

JK080 Transmission Moderator Staff Member Moderator Elite Explorer

City, State:
    North Ga
    05 F250 6.0
    Sounds like the intermediate band is not applying for third gear.

The most common reason for this is a burnt or broken band, the servo can fail also but this usually results in a burnt band anyways.