2003 Explorer 4.6L Kicking or Bucking on Hard Acceleration | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2003 Explorer 4.6L Kicking or Bucking on Hard Acceleration

red03explorer

Reaction score
City, State
Indianapolis, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Ford Explorer
Okay, a little background on my driving... I am an aggressive driver with a heavy foot, always complete maintenance on time and fix issues when they come up. If I could I'd go back to a sports car, but with a family in tow... I'm happy driving my V8 Explorer.

My Vehicle:
2003 Ford Explorer NBX
Auto Trans (5R55W)
4WD (Auto)
4.6L V8
141,000 Miles

With that out of the way...

I frequently put the pedal to the metal on my explorer. Occasionally (70% of the time) the explorer starts bucking or misfiring on heavy acceleration.

I've had it checked numerous times by several different mechanics and different shops... I instruct them to drive it heavy footed to duplicate... however, only one mechanic claims to have experienced it and he was at a loss. I believe the others failed to accelerate the way I do.

My initial thoughts were...
Front Differential?
Almost seemed as if it could be the 4WD trying to engage, like it detected a slip in the rear wheels.

Misfire? Idles fine, other than an odd 1500 - 1600 rpm vibration that's been a nuisance since I purchased it (117,000 Miles). Can rev it up when parked and never exhibits characteristics of a misfire.

Transmission Solenoid? I've got an occasional stumble and the occasional odd feeling shift. Also, slow to engage reverse on first start on cold mornings (less than 35 degrees outside temp). Will reverse slowly and feel slightly shaky when applying gas, but within 10 seconds the issue goes away and engages quickly if alternating from park to reverse.