2006 Ford Explorer XLT w/5R55S Automatic Transmission Slipping In Reverse | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2006 Ford Explorer XLT w/5R55S Automatic Transmission Slipping In Reverse

The Swamp Fox

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Ford Explorer XLT
Hello all,

I'm new to both my Ford Explorer and the forums here. I am currently having some transmission trouble, and am hoping to learn from those who have found themselves in my situation before. The vehicle in question is a 2006 Ford Explorer XLT with the 4.0L V6 engine and 5R55S 5-speed automatic transmission.

The engine is running flawlessly and the vehicle is in great shape for the year. I'm trying to ascertain whether the transmission issue is serious enough that it will require a rebuild / replacement, or whether the slipping is caused by a more peripheral issue such as a bad sensor that would be a far less expensive repair.

I'm no rookie under the hood, but have (fortunately) never had transmission issues before and know next to nothing about them. That said, I am eager to learn.

History of Transmission Performance
For several years now, the transmission has slipped slightly in reverse when under a heavy load, such as when backing up a steep incline or when backing up with a loaded trailer. The slipping was usually preceded by a significant mechanical shuddering. However, the Explorer would walk up a hill in reverse no problem when in 4x4 Low. No other slipping or shifting issues ever presented.

Some time ago, the driver side transmission oil cooler fitting at the radiator sprung a slow ATF leak. I successfully fixed this by replacing the two O-rings contained within the fitting. I then carefully followed the Ford Service Manual procedure for topping off the automatic transmission fluid:
  1. Warm up transmission to 80-120° F.
  2. Park on a level surface (verified via level on running board)