4.0 l timing chain broke?????? help!!!!!!!!!!!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

4.0 l timing chain broke?????? help!!!!!!!!!!!!

lisfan

Reaction score
City, State
boston mass
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 explorer xlt 4.0
hi
please help!!!!!!!!!:(:(:(:(
long story short, i was going to work and the truck just quit. no lights , noise. i noticed earlier in the day it was seemed slighlty sluggish for a short time. i checked for spark - ok but no compression at all. i didnt bother to check fuel pressure at this point. you can hear the starter turning the lower end over. through the right oil fill oil i noticed the cam not turning. i was told by two ford dealerships over the phone that the engine is probably a boat anchor now due to valves getting bent when the engine goes out of time. has anyone had this happen to them. only problem was a few months ago , i had the damper fail. i replaced it and the crank sensor. i am a professional mechanic and im beside myself at this failure. its a 2004 explorer xlt 4.0 vin k , flex fuel. should i bother to tear apart????? or replace the motor. with the times being the way they are. i am probably going to put a used motor. i found two one with 12000 $750 90day warranty and another with 40000, $900.00 6 month warranty. what do you guys think?????:(

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

that sucks dude, how many miles do you have on the blown engine?

ONLY 78000. the oil has always been changed every 3000. my old 1994 had made it to 250000 before i lost track of the truck. do you think this engine is kaputs. should i chance replacing the chain? thanks ahead of time

dude I dont know what to do. What happened to you is scary. Makes me want to pull my engine and replace the timing chains and tensioners at 100k just for the heck of it.