• Register Today It's free!

93 Explorer A4LD, No OD!!!

93TwotoneXLT

Reaction score
City, State
Evansville, In
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 XLT4x4
Whew, it's been a long time since I have been on here(over a year). Hello all! Ok, I know that this is a well worn subject. I have searched the threads but have not seen a same situation as mine. I gave my X to my stepdad so he could have something reliable to drive until he retires. He has been driving the X for over a year and all was well until last night when he calls me telling me the radiator is leaking. I came and picked up the X to replace it at the shop I run(oh yeah, I am a service manager) and I noticed that I have no OD. Replaced the radiator under warranty:cool: then drove it to check overall tranny operation. Partial or full throttle, 1,2,3 shifts are great. Positive engagements, no slipping/flares. I DO have TCC lockup as well in 3rd. Tranny just won't shift into OD. Tried manual from D to OD as well, still no OD. Pulls fine in D or OD when pulling away from a stop. No check engine light. I have access to an NGS tester and checked for codes but none are stored/current. This weekend I am going to install a new throttle body as I also found out the factory one is starting to bind. I am going to adjust the bands but I am doubtful this will fix the issue. I also plan on checking the 3 wire connector at the tranny for the correct inputs. I have a few questions for the gurus on here. 1. OD being computer controlled, if the solenoid were bad, it would throw a code and trigger the check engine light, right? 2. I have read about a plugged solenoid screen, is it accessable by just dropping the pan or do I have to remove the valve body too? 3. If there is anything else I should be checking for, could you please inform me of it? Thanks to all for any help/reply's.:):thumbsup:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.