1. Tip...
    If you hold most smartphones sideways
    you can bring up a more full featured version of the forum.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

95 Ford Explorer 4wd XLT New Forum Member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by drsing, February 5, 2012.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

1. drsing

drsing New Member

City, State:
    Ft Lauderdale Fl
    Year, Model & Trim Level:
    1995 Explorer xlt 4wd
    Hello All,

I've been hanging around this forum for a couple of weeks now and have picked up some remarkable tips! I am extremely pleased to be a member and look forward to continuing my education and hopefullly contributing a few nuggets. My background is 17 yrs as an IBM hardware and Systems Engineer followed by just as many doing computer consulting.

Three weeks ago I purchased my 1st Explorer $2400 with all new tires. It was a replacement for a 2003 Dodge Durango that Firestone paid me cash for after one of their shop mechs left my radiator cap loose which destroyed my engine when it redlined after 2 days. My wife drives a 2012 Honda Civic, I needed a tow vehicle for my 21' Galaxy sport express cruiser power boat. I didn't do a lot of research just searched Craigs list for what looked like good buys.

My Explorer looks and runs GREAT, inside is immaculate and most of the paint is very shiny! 1st CD changer in my 61 years! Way better than I would have expected for a 1995 vehicle.

Two days after the purchase I severely overpaid Meineke $502, for a new serpentine belt, rear rotors, ceramic pads and an oil change. They charged me $150 parts for the same 2 rear rotors I could have purchased on the web for $20 + $35 shipping. And $100 for a set of rear ceramic brake pads, I could have purchased for $25.00 Very expensive lesson learned. OUCH! :fire:

Since then I've decided to do all of the maintenance I can myself. And this forum has been a VERY VALUABLE RESOURCE!!!