Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

96 Ford Dead, po171 and 174

Discussion in 'Stock 1995 - 2001 Explorers' started by Fordah, December 31, 2014.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^
  1. Fordah

Fordah New Member

Year, Model & Trim Level:
    1996 Ford Explorer Sport
    Hi. I have a 1996 Ford Explorer sport with 120k miles. 4.6 v6 engine and manual transmission. The ford no longer runs more than 1-2 mins. It will start up, idle for 1-2 minutes and then die. If I try to drive it, it will die even faster. Before the failure problems occurred, the car would sputter while driving in any gear. it had this behavior for about a week before it finally died. The codes I got from an AutoZone scan were po171 and po174. I replaced the fuel filter and the MAF looks clean. Now I'm thinking vacuum leak? Hoping someone might have a good idea. I'm a novice when it comes to repairing cars.

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. koda2000

koda2000 Explorer Addict

x
    you have a 4.0L V6, not a 4.6L. Yes, P0171/P0174 indicate a vacuum leak. considering your car will not even run anymore, it must be a pretty big leak. check all your vacuum hoses. being a large leak should make it easier to find. if you have the SOHC engine, check the PCV elbow first.

4. Fordah

Fordah New Member

1996 Ford Explorer Sport
    Thanks, will check it out and get back to you!

5. koda2000

koda2000 Explorer Addict

x