Anyone have experience with installing a tranny rebuild kit? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Anyone have experience with installing a tranny rebuild kit?

CarlosHRNYC

Reaction score
City, State
Pine Bush, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Explorer XLS
I have a master rebuild kit I purchased for my 5R55S and I just want to make sure I hit all the seals, gaskets, etc. If anyone has done this before I'd love to hear how your experience went and if you have any tips/suggestions.

I have already pulled the tranny and have some hard parts on order.

I also have a Superior Shift Kit that I plan to install in the valve body but for that I have detailed instructions that came with the kit and there are plenty of videos on YouTube that show the necessary steps.

There's not much I can find online on rebuild kits. I do have the ATSG Tranny Manual for the 5R55S so I can at least follow that.

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What brand kit? Change all 3 bands, front pump bushing, servo pistons and ck for wear on the servo pin bores. New solenoid block and remanufactured torque converter. Shift kit is good as it addresses the line pressure relief valve. ATSG is a basic reference manual but not model year specific. Good luck and have fun!

Isn't it always about having fun, Transman?? :D thanks for the reply.

Wellington 5R55S/W Deluxe Transmission Rebuild Kit 2002-ON
Mfg #16008G

I have the bands, pump bushings and seal, solenoid on the way. Is the torque converter a requirement?

With my rebuild kit it just seems I have a lot more bushings, o-rings, checkcballs, seals and gaskets than what my tranny has.

I'm guessing it's to cover parts from the S & W.