• Register Today It's free!

Building a 4.0 OHV for power

Jstcruz

Reaction score
City, State
Deltona, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 Ex XLT & 84 Ranger
I would like to hear some input on this from people who know what they are talking about. I am new to the 4.0 but know I like them! I have the 4.0 OHV engine, Automatic transmission, drive shaft, rearend and all the computer stuff from a 95 Explorer XLT that I plan on putting into my 84 Ranger. Since I'm doing all of this I want to do it right. I have the engine taken completely apart and it looks great but Im sending it to a machine shop to check it out anyway. I want to get all the power out of this engine I can and remain naturally aspirated. I would like some ideas on how to do that, rather or not I should upgrade the tranny - I will have it rebuilt - should I upgrade the driveshaft or rearend, and what kind of gearing should I use if I'm useing suggested stock size tires? Thanks in advance for your input!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would like to hear some input on this from people who know what they are talking about. I am new to the 4.0 but know I like them! I have the 4.0 OHV engine, Automatic transmission, drive shaft, rearend and all the computer stuff from a 95 Explorer XLT that I plan on putting into my 84 Ranger. Since I'm doing all of this I want to do it right. I have the engine taken completely apart and it looks great but Im sending it to a machine shop to check it out anyway. I want to get all the power out of this engine I can and remain naturally aspirated. I would like some ideas on how to do that, rather or not I should upgrade the tranny - I will have it rebuilt - should I upgrade the driveshaft or rearend, and what kind of gearing should I use if I'm useing suggested stock size tires? Thanks in advance for your input!