Camshaft Position Sensor Questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Camshaft Position Sensor Questions

nathaniversen

Reaction score
City, State
Gig Harbor, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1995 Limited
I've been hearing the CPS chirping noise in my 95 Ex for a few months now, and I have a few questions about it.

1. What is the chirping noise coming from? Is it from inside the little sensor itself, or does it have to do with the camshaft synchronizer? Basically, which one do I *need* to replace to eliminate the noise?

2. Is there an average time to failure after the noise shows up? Can I expect it to just explode one day?

3. Is there a GOOD write up on the site with directions on how to replace it?

4. Does anybody have any suggestions on a cheap place to get the parts online, or should I just go to an auto parts store?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

1. What is the chirping noise coming from? Is it from inside the little sensor itself, or does it have to do with the camshaft synchronizer? Basically, which one do I *need* to replace to eliminate the noise?

it's the synchro, oil builds up on it and bakes, the noise you are hearing is it rubbing against the housing

2. Is there an average time to failure after the noise shows up? Can I expect it to just explode one day?

nope, could last for years or minutes, but if it dose go it coulkd take out your oil pump with it

3. Is there a GOOD write up on the site with directions on how to replace it?

probably

4. Does anybody have any suggestions on a cheap place to get the parts online, or should I just go to an auto parts store?

I had to go with a napa part nothing else would fit
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=207905

Alright, thanks hazmat.

I just replaced the CPS in my OHV...