Clunking Noise ? (4x4)

Harpo

Reaction score
City, State
San Diego, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 X
Hello Everyone,

Well.......I did it, I purchased a 91 Explorer and my son and I are working on it together.

I have been trolling these boards for about 2 months gathering information and I would like to thank you all for your posts.

This is my first post so be gentle with me.

1. When we engage the 4x4 we hear a clunking sound while driving coming from the front of the vehicle. When we disengage the 4x4 there is no sound.

2. The center console is broken. Does anyone know of a good place to get a new one. We were thinking maybe something custom.

3. We want to lift it but don't want a MONSTER truck any ideas ?. I'd like it to do very well off road and fairly well on the street.

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Is this your first 4x4? Some binding/grinding noises are normal for a transfer case 4x4 like yours even when turning in dirt. Are the sounds made on dry pavement (not meant for that), when engaging the 4x4 or all the time?

Check fordpartsnetwork.com or junkyarddog.com for the center console.

There are many 2" to 3" lifts for your truck. Rancho, Duff, Superlift, Pro Comp etc. Check 4wheelparts.com.

Hi and welcome aboard

I'll get flamed for this but here goes:D

1. Does it clunk all the time or just when going in to 4x4? Also don't go into 4x4 on the road only on slippy stuff like mud/sand etc. Possibly the auto hubs engaging or not working. Does it come from one side?

2. See our sponsers Explorer Express they do them. I'm sure there are others as well.

3. see above. Why lift? To fit bigger tyres? If so how high depends on what tyre size your going for. Use the search button and see what others have done.

All the best and happy x-ing:)