• Register Today It's free!

d35 traclok

feksrocks

Reaction score
City, State
utah
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 explorer xlt
Hi I'm fairly new to explorer scene but a friend of mine has a traclok that was on his Cherokee rear end and recently upgraded to a full locker will his traclok work in my front end and how hard will it b to install

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

cherokee front end is a dana 30 solid axle, the ttb dana 35 is different, more similar to a dana 44 than a 30, i ighly doubt the jeep LS gears etc would fit in the explorer front end.

The rear d35 ls from a jeep will fit the front of the explorer d35..do a search, couple of threads on here.im not sure 100% on the models tho

RangerX had one and I bought it from him.. So, now I have a Jeep d35 trac-lok in the front of our X.

I can say this though.. Since the stock (open) carrier uses a roll pin type thing to hold in the cross shaft pin. The LS uses a bolt...

DON'T FORGET TO INSTALL THE CROSS SHAFT LOCK BOLT!

The people that installed that LS into RangerX's Ranger and myself both forgot that..

6248755396_06f0df211a.jpg
Dana 35 trac lok damage-2 by maniak_az, on Flickr

6248233267_85792ef1f5.jpg
Dana 35 trac lok damage-1 by maniak_az, on Flickr

Lucky I just needed a new cross pin but paid more for overnight shipping than I did for the pin/bolt.

It wasn't "that bad" to install but getting everything back in and meshed together was a 2 person job..

~Mark

Edit: I found a post I made with p/n's when I was trying to find a new cross pin. http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2829137&postcount=17

RangerX had one and I bought it from him.. So, now I have a Jeep d35 trac-lok in the front of our X..