• Register Today It's free!

Dome light LED conversion

mikesmithis007

Reaction score
City, State
Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Explorer XLT
My 93 XLT has the dome light in the cargo area, and then 3 up front. (2 switch, 1 door-activated). I wanted to convert these to LED as cheap as possible. I'm not good with circuitry and what resistors are needed, if any.

Any suggestions as to LED elements or what parts I need?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

When I had the base model dome light up front (just a bulb, no map lights) I switched to a LED panel that I bought at Autozone. Believe it was a 6x8 LED array. It threw off a strong white light but I ended up switching back to a bulb, and eventually installing a map light setup like you have. I didn't like how sterile looking the light it produced was, and it didn't cast at a distance well. The problem is most LEDs by design do not scatter light well without complex lenses, whereas incandescent bulbs throw light evenly in all directions. If you are trying to get more light out of your stock fixture, you can install different bulbs. I have installed larger bulbs in my dome light for more light, but you have to consider that some bulbs can generate too much heat if left on for a long time and even melt the plastic. There are a lot of options, best to try a few and make sure they don't get too hot.

Retrofit LEDs are available at many auto parts stores and usually are set up for 12v. You may be able to find direct replacement LEDs that fit into the stock bulb connections, as I know they're offered for taillights and indicators. No resistors needed.