1. Tip...
    If you hold most smartphones sideways
    you can bring up a more full featured version of the forum.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

engine is surging at start up

Discussion in 'Under the Hood' started by davidbaggett, December 28, 2004.

• Searches ExplorerForum.com
    1. davidbaggett

davidbaggett New Member

City, State:
      Beaumont, Texas
      Year, Model & Trim Level:
      '00 Ford Contour 2.5 V6
      Howdy, i am a newb here and wanted to ask a couple of questions about my explorer. At startup, the engine is surging up to about 2k RPM and then falling down past 500 RPM, and lately it does this a couple of times and then dies. i need to check the book and see when the fuel and air filters were replaced, but my only other guess is the IAC. I took it off around Thanksgiving and cleaned it and that temporarily got rid of the surging. Do i need i new IAC valve altogether? From what i've read the IAC is something that will just go out. also it's throwing codes 0133, 0171, and 0174. i looked them up, just not sure if it's related b/c the cel comes on and off periodically. sorry for the longish post. thanks in advance! :thumbsup:

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

to hide adverts.
    3. 01sportrac

01sportrac New Member

City, State:
      Lawrenceville, GA
      2001 Explorer Sport Trac
      David-my 01 Sportrac was doing the same thing...