Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Fire Extinguisher Mount

Discussion in 'Offroad Fabrication - Bumpers, Sliders, Cages etc.' started by RockRanger, August 1, 2011.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^
  1. RockRanger

RockRanger Elite Ranger Elite Explorer

City, State:
    Fresno CA
    Year, Model & Trim Level:
    86 ranger no more
    Callsign:
    KK6TDL
    A few months back I started playing with the free version of Google Sketchup. One of the things I drew was this fire extinguisher mount based on some I saw online. It is pretty basic mainly cause I was not sure how well everything would work and did not want to spend a ton of time on something that might not work. Here is what I came up with.

[​IMG]

I knew Brian1 from this site had a CNC Plasma Table. So after a few emails back in forth I was able to create a .dxf file that he could use to create the parts. One of the things is that the free version of sketchup does not let you export as .dxf. I found a plugin online that allows you to export as .dxf. Here is a screen shot of what I sent him.

[​IMG]

A few days later a USPS flat rate box shows up with these in it.

[​IMG]

I originally was just going to use a pin but decided to order a bling pull pin from Mcmaster carr.

[​IMG]

After welding them up this is what I came up with. My welding location is currently in a highly flammable mountain area so I plan on doing the finish grinding elsewhere.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]